Quotes Markets Page Cotton News DTN Ag Headlines Headline News Market News Weather
Georgia Cotton Commission Reaffirmed with 93% Producer Vote  03/18/13 9:08:09 AM

The Georgia Cotton Commission, in business since 1965, was reaffirmed in the referendum held February 4 through March 5, 2013.   A total of 3,507 ballots were mailed, with 1,020 returned, representing 29% grower participation.  Of those returned, 93% voted “yes.”  This will allow the Commission to continue their programs of research, promotion and education on behalf of cotton producers for another three years.
The Commission looks after growers’ concerns by working closely with the National Cotton Council and Southern Cotton Growers to meet the constant challenges presented to the cotton industry.  The Commission takes stewardship of the producers’ assessment dollars very seriously to fund the most comprehensively relevant research and to facilitate carrying research findings back to all of the producers through meetings, field tours and media. 
To raise awareness and demand for cotton products high within the consumer sector, promotion and education activities are carefully identified and planned to ensure an efficient and effective investment. 
Board members and staff of the Commission appreciate producers who took the time to vote to keep us working for them.  Chairman Mike Lucas said, “For years I was a voting producer but these last several years serving on the Commission board have enabled me to see up-close how the Commission works in so many ways to address our needs concerning research, legislation and promotion.  On behalf of the entire board, I want to thank our fellow growers for this great vote of confidence to keep us working.  We are all looking forward to these next three years serving our cotton industry.” 
Questions and comments from producers about the Georgia Cotton Commission’s programs are welcomed and encouraged at any time.  They may be directed to Executive Director, Richey Seaton in the Perry office: 478.988.4235 or gactn@windstream.net.
Other staff members available to assist producers in the Perry office are Communications Program Manager Karen Nikitopoulos: cotton@windstream.net, and Office Manager, Martha Harris: martha.harris@windstream.net
The Commission’s producer board members are Chairman Mike Lucas of Chester; Vice Chairman Wavell Robinson of Pavo; Marvin Ruark of Bishop; Lee Cromley of Brooklet and Bart Davis of Doerun.  Ex-officio members are Georgia Commissioner of Agriculture, Gary W. Black and Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall.  All members an be reached via the means shown above.
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN